Thank You, Each and Every One

Dear, dear friends,

Today is the 207th day of 2012.  I am grateful for 207,000,000 things.  First, my brilliant, loving husband.  My compassionate gifted daughter.  The extended Bradford family.  My niece Laura, Christopher and Nicholas and the Sunday afternoons spent at Good Harbor Beach — always working to master the best sand castle with our 800 pounds of beach hernalia.  I am grateful that Christopher cleaned up every cigarette butt in the southern part of Cape Cod.  

I am grateful to Dr. Johnson and the Brigham & Women’s neurosurgical team for their precision and attention to detail — but I am most grateful to each and every one of you.
To Ed Crane, a gifted and talented artist and the opportunity to live in a beautiful home to exhibit his wonderful work.
I also want to show gratitude for a 40 year friendship with a gifted photographer, Mary Lou Christiansen.  Her photographs are the essence of a morning opening up.  I couldn’t be surrounded by anything more beautiful.
Mostly my mother-in-law for her intricate drawings of my daughter.  For her willingness to hold her paintbrush for hours in order to display all the intricacies of my daughter’s beauty.
One final note: I am grateful that the MBTA has allocated $75,000,000 for new express busses so we don’t have to ride along the Mass Pike and pretend that we’re surfing at 80 miles per hour.
Much Love,
Pam
About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You, Each and Every One

  1. Molly Johnson says:

    Wow. Reading this makes me realize again how incredibly blessed I am.
    I don’t even know where to start my list, but I think I will. It’s so
    easy to get caught up in everything we want, everything we’re chasing
    after, whatever the “next thing” is. Maybe we all need to step back
    and look at what and who we already have. Thanks for the reminder,
    Pam!

    Peace and love to all,
    Molly

  2. Pam Healy says:

    Dear Pam,
    I have not written in the group emails. I want you to know that last week, last Thursday afternoon, when attending the annual international conference to honor our son’s memory, for the first time in ten years I attended the clinics for surviving children rather than do a tour or run a grieving workshop. I rode the school bus with a new family from Puerto Rico with a one year old; they did not speak English. As we drove through St; Louis University, the home of the St.Louis Jesuits and so much of the music we love at Sacred Heart, I sent up special prayers for you. I have an unusually strong sense of place, and it just seemed the right place for such important prayers. I had never been in the city before, but the music of this university’s graduates and now staff had made its way to our worship services, in important ways defined them. I thought of Be Not Afraid and Here I am Lord and LIft Up Your Hearts and let the music carry my prayers.
    A few minutes later we made it to Cardinal Glennon Hospital, and I brought my newly met family to the clinics, communicating quite well without a verbal common language. For two hours I sat in the waiting room with children who have defied the odds and survived. Each one represents the one in 100 who has celebrated a first birthday: they were two, three, four, eight, eleven, fifteen year olds. Still other families passed through the waiting room on their way back from the clinics and stayed. In the midst of genuine miracles, adorable, though fragile miracles, perhaps earthly angels, I said more prayers for your continued recovery. Some places are unusually sacred, and I knew this simple, austere hospital waiting room in a university Cathollic hospital not far from the banks of the Mississippi at that time with those families was sacred ground. I prayed also for a one year old from RI who had been sent home the day before for her final days. Still, she was part of the 1%, the miracle troop. I hope prayers said in the midst of miracles carry extra power! I hope your recovery continues and you are on the road to full recovery.
    Thinking of you,
    Pam Healey

Leave a Reply

