Prayer For Courage

Dear kind and generous souls,

Thank you for your prayers, your cards, your calls, your texts, your emails, your flowers, your fruit baskets and your dinners!  I’m sorry that, at times, my responses are slow; but we’re adjusting to the demands of the situation we find ourselves in.  As we face the weekend, I ask you for your prayers for courage.  My days and nights are full of fear and anxiety.  Please help me find God’s courage, understanding and patience.  
Your role in my life has been so supportive!  I am looking to get by each day with grace — and it is harder now than it has ever been for me.  Also pray, please, for my husband and my daughter.  Also pray for the pathologists at Brigham and Women’s as they look for answers to help me get well and stay well.  Pray also for others, for anyone struggling with loneliness, with pain, with sickness or with depression that God’s love can touch them too.
Thank you again.
With sincere appreciation,
Pamela
About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prayer For Courage

  1. Mary Ellen says:

    How did I not know you’re fifty-seven? (that was supposed to make you laugh.) Pammy, we love you so much and your little Amherst-Bradford Family has been stormin’ heaven for you and Paul and Liqa. All my friends and colleagues are, too. YOU ARE THE BEST and it’s true, you are everyone’s favorite. So there! Love Love Love you.

  2. Molly Johnson says:

    Oh Pam, you have nothing to be sorry for! Nothing at all. You have been thrown a major curve ball, and I suspect that adjusting will be neither easy nor particularly quick. But there’s a reason God only gives us one day at a time, my dear friend. It’s ‘cuz that’s the way we’re supposed to live them!

    I will keep praying for you, that your spirit will be strengthened and renewed by God’s love and grace, reflected in all of us who wrap our arms around you through this journey.

    When you feel anxious, remember that you are not alone. When you received the sacrament of Baptism, God promised you would never be alone. He is with you in your brightest day and in your darkest night. He will always be with you.

    Isaiah 41:10
    New International Version (NIV)

    10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
    do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you and help you;
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

    I will call you tomorrow to confirm, but I’d love to come by after work if you have the energy. For now, rest, my friend, even if sleep is elusive. Rest and know that you are safe and loved.

    See you soon!

  3. Kalley Moore says:

    Paul and Pam,

    I know this is a very difficult time for you. Our prayers are with your family. Please make sure to let me know if you want me to come to bring communion to your home. I can come as frequently as you want. If the ritual I do tires Pam out because it is too long, I can shorten it.

    God’s blessings be with you all,

    Kalley

  4. Joanne Mccandless says:

    Pam,

    I’ve been thinking about you and your family for the last week. You are so good and so many people adore you ( including me)!

    I have had you in my thoughts and prayers and will continue to do so.

    Love goes out to you, Angelique and Paul!

    I’ll be in touch,

    Joanne

Leave a Reply

