Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

Dear Friends and Family,

Thank you for taking the time to read my very simple thoughts.  Please know this: The prayers you’ve offered up to ease my worry, anxiety and depression have buoyed me up more than you can possibly know.  Every time you put loving energy into the universe, your pleas for my comfort are like a million healing lights.  I pray that all of your prayers and well-wishes are also lifting up Liqa and Paul.  

Again, this is a day to rejoice!  Today we celebrate the anniversary of the birth of my dear friend Jill Tapper.  Back in the fall of 1991, when Jill and I were both new mothers, I received my first call from Jill.  Jill’s voice, was, and continues to be the voice of an angel.  Her first words to me were, “Do you want your baby to play with mine?”  Twenty one years later, our daughters continue to be the very best of best friends and Jill continues to know the perfect time and the perfect way to reach out to me with the comfort I need.  I am so blessed!

I also want to celebrate the joyous occasion of my nephew Mark’s engagement to his wonderful Kathryn.  Mark is the boy you wish were your best friend in First Grade.  I can see that when Kathryn looks at him she loves him, respects him and wants to be with him for the rest of her life.  She is loyal and appreciates all the wonderful things that make him unique and loving.  I wish I were with them now, in Albany, celebrating their engagement; but I am certainly sending out my joy and prayers for a long and happy marriage.

And just one last thing:  I come from a family of fabulous cooks.  Preparing a meal is always an act of love.  It’s love that you can taste!  Two nights ago, my talented niece created an Italian dish of lobster sauce and pasta that tastes so much like love.  Thank you, Stephanie.

I continue to ask for prayers to alleviate my sense of isolation.  It is so obvious that I am not alone — if only I had the faith and the strength to grasp this truth in my heart.

God Bless You All!

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

  1. Julie Lancaster says:

    Pam,
    What a joy and relief to have some contact with you! Thank for your courage in wanting to share this journey. You got off to such a terrifying start, but in your true fashion, you kicked butt. I know you will continue to fight until you are catching bus 507 once again. The Quakers believe there is true power in people coming together,to wait for what God has to say. I have no doubt that God has a big plan for you, so just wait to hear what it is. Know how much I love and care for you,and agonize that I have done so little to help. Since I believe in the power of prayer, then I am holding up that end. Would love to come, or even to Skype. You tell me what you may want.
    So much love, Julie

Leave a Reply

