(Post from Paul) All Are Welcome in this Place

A hearty howdy to all the for, a hearty howdy to all the ‘gin,

It certainly hasn’t escaped my attention that some of the visitors to this blog — visitors who come here because they love and care for Pam, visitors we very much want to welcome, may perhaps be more than a little put off by all the Jesus stuff we’ve been tossing around.  Don’t bother to point it out — I know I’m the very worst offender.  

The funny thing is that I myself get really turned off by Bible-thumping Godders, so it’s slightly disconcerting to note that my posts, by and large, are the posts of a Bible-thumping Godder.  More proof (as if more proof were necessary) that folks are most annoyed by people who most resemble them.

So, let me ask for the help of those who aren’t quite as taken by (or taken in by) the one, holy, catholic and apostolic church as I am.  What do we have to do to make you realize that we don’t expect anybody to jump through religious hoops in order to join in the conversation about Pam and about our attempt to support her well being?  I’m not going to change, nor are Pam or Angelique, but I want you all to be assured that our way of making sense of life needn’t be your way.

You may be one of those who are unconvinced of this whole God business — please be convinced that every effort we describe as an opening up to God is simultaneously an opening up to you.  We know (and Pam speaks of this to me every day) that we can’t walk this journey alone.  Your ‘good thoughts’ and ‘well wishes’ are every bit as desired as the ‘prayers’ of those who actually are comfortable with all the religiosity you find on this ‘site.

Some folks believe that people are ‘unique’ or that one set of people are different from another.  We all believe that people are people are people, and we believe in people so we believe in you.

Peace and Love,

Paul

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (Post from Paul) All Are Welcome in this Place

  1. Maria O'Brien Hylton says:

    Ha–so true that people are most bothered by those like them! Keep posting–your variety of bible thumping doesn’t grate at all!

  2. Okay!!! I’ve got it. Happy that Liqua will sing next Wednesday. Bill G. will meet with her at 7PM to rehearse.

    Pam, I am sending much love and prayers. Paul, I love these posts. Keep writing.

    Thinking of you all many times a day!!! Joanne

  3. just checking….trying to log in!!!

  4. Pam,
    As Paul is well aware, Cindy and i are both Rreiki practitioners. Let us know if you are inclined to treatments. I can also train Paul or ‘Liqua or both of them if you find benefit.

    Frank Bellini

Leave a Reply

