Life Choices — Choosing a Life of Hope

To all you wonderful companions:

I took myself to task last night.  I asked myself how I intended to live the rest of my life.  Am I going to be full of fear, or full of hope? I’m on a journey, a journey I’m sharing with God and with all of you, and I’ve reached a fork in the road.  I’ve got to decide which way to proceed.  I’ve got to make a choice.  

It seems to me that I’ve been chugging along on ‘Fear Avenue’ since my surgery in July.  I’ve been pouring anxiety into my body, and into my posts.  Surely, you’ve noticed!

Now, the way I figure it, up until now I haven’t had a choice.  Who in my position would have been able to do any better?  All this time I’ve been reeling from the shock of discovering I’m harboring a tumor in my brain.  Believe me, a piece of news like that takes some getting used to!  Have you ever heard someone say they felt as if the ground beneath them had given way?  That’s how I feel.  Trauma is not too strong a word to describe the effect this cancer news has had on me.  I’ve been living minute to minute, never knowing what awful surprise is just around the corner.

Later this week, on Thursday to be exact, Dr. Lee is going to read my MRI and let us know whether my tumor has grown during the time of my treatment since surgery.  Every minute of every day has been rooted in the fear that the cancer is growing, that a new tumor is developing, that this horrible, aggressive cancer is behaving, well, aggressively.

Every once in a while, though, the fear lets up and I get a glimpse of what hope looks like.  When I’m able to hope, I’m able to imagine a brain free of cancer.  I want to be cancer free.  I want to be cancer free!  Damn it, I want to be cancer free!!!  Anyone who believes in the mind-body connection knows that attitude is a big factor in healing.  If I want to be cancer free I’ve got to choose hope.  I have been scared — in fact, in one way or another, I’ve been scared all my life; but that doesn’t mean I have to stay scared.  Fear doesn’t have to be my BFF.  I can be hopeful.  I will be hopeful.

Dr. Johnson came to visit me the day after my surgery and the first thing I said to him was, “Don’t give me a prognosis.  Just give me hope.”  That’s how I felt then, and that’s how I feel now.  I don’t have control over this cancer and, truly, neither do the doctors.  We all have to relinquish the illusion of control, and letting go is the hardest thing in the world — it certainly is for me.

I don’t know what’s going to happen next.  I have no way of knowing what the future holds — nor do any of us.  What good is a prognosis?  Hope, on the other hand, is something real.  It’s something I can see in my mind’s eye.  I can see my daughter graduate from college.  I can see good times with friends and family.  I can see my marriage unfolding day after day and opening us both to love and respect.  That’s hope, and hope is real — it’s just as real as the fear had been, but it’s up to me to choose.

For the past three months fear has stopped me from being who I am.  I’ve kept myself back from friends I miss terribly; but I’ve stopped holding myself back.  I’ve chosen to start accepting invitations.  That’s my way of choosing hope.  For three months I’ve kept myself from going into a grocery store, or laughing, or entertaining.  But I don’t have to keep holding back.  I can choose hope.  I will choose hope!

My last few posts have been all about exposing my fear.  It frightened me to learn that my life is out of my hands.  It’s taken a while, but now I can accept the fact that I don’t control the future, that I never could.  All I have is today.  Today I can choose to hope for a life of joy, or I can live in dread of what might happen.  Today I’ve chosen hope.  Hope so that I can love and live and laugh.  Hope so that I can be grateful for all the blessings I have in my life.

Thank you for all being so tolerant of my bleak and fearful blogs in the past.  I am grateful to all of you.  You’ve given me love, support, kindness and generosity well beyond my merits.  You deserve better than fear, though, and so do I.  Please keep us in your prayers for Thursday; but whatever the outcome is I’m going to accept it and live this life with hope because this is the only life I have.

Love,

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Cancer Sucks, Family and Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life Choices — Choosing a Life of Hope

  1. Kim Donoghue says:

    Me love you long time Pam! XOXOXO

  2. ronald lancaster says:

    Pam, I know you wrote this before your appt.   I find it incredible that just as you chose hope, YOU GOT HOPE.   Your news of No New Growth gives you the hope you seek.  Hope to start living your life again.  Hope to take each day for all it is worth, because that is all anyone gets.   We live on hope and faith, and the more we embrace it, the more it seems to evidence itself.  The joy I felt at the wonderful news practically lifted me off my feet.  I can only imagine and delight in what this glorious news  was for you all.    Live in Hope and joy, and love each day.  ” It is a gift, that’s why it is called the present”!!!! Devoted to you with so much love, Julie

    ________________________________

  3. Mary Ann Bourque says:

    Just heard the most amazing news from Lisa. Praise God !!!

    Love and blessings,
    Mary Ann

  4. Billy says:

    I love you Pam!

    Billy

  5. jonparker55 says:

    Great post!-Hope is a powerful force. Much continued healing.

  6. Karyn Brownell says:

    Much love Pam!

Leave a Reply

