A long, but satisfying day….

To my dear, wonderful friends and family,

Thank you, all, for your prayers and well-wishes regarding my MRI test and doctors’ visits today.  As it happens, there is no definitive news; but there are options.  Surgery is among these options but Dr. Lee indicated to us that I have other options as well.

I am so grateful that I’m being treated at the best cancer care unit in the world.

The true miracle of the day was that I went through everything without anxiety.  I have come to understand that everything is in God’s hands and now have a faith is really sustaining me.  Cancer is a horrible disease, but God has found a way to turn even this into an opportunity to show His glory.  I am more convinced now than ever in my life that I am loved.

I am especially grateful to my beautiful niece Jackie for thinking ahead.  She created a beautiful flower arrangement to welcome me at the end of my busy, and very tiring day.  Jackie is talented and artistic; but most of all she is thoughtful.  She really made things nice for me today.

Yesterday the Connecticut wing of my family drove through the rain to see me and to put a smile on my face.  We shared a meal, and old stories, and new stories; we shared hope but mostly we shared a love that only grows deeper with the years.  Thank you God!

I know this post is short; but I’m long on gratitude for so many good things, especially all of you!

Peace and Love,

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Cancer Sucks, Family and Friends, Medical Test Results and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A long, but satisfying day….

  1. Bill Bradford says:

    I am proud of you Pam!

    Billy

  2. Julie Lancaster says:

    Pam,
    You had another roller coaster day. I am glad to hear of options, which puts you in the place to make decisions, always with God holding your right hand. Thank you for the post .As always, it is
    good the day is over, and you can rest. You have many wonderful people who are on this trip with you. We are all changing and growing by your faithful journey. All my love to you, Paul and
    Liqa. I will listen to her tape next. Thanks for posting.
    Love you,
    Julie

  3. Lisa Cimino says:

    Billy and I have been praying a circle of prayer around you – God is faithful and he is our greatest comforter. Love and Blessings- Lisa

  4. Mary Ellen says:

    Thank you for posting tonight–yes, we’ve all been storming heaven and shall continue to do so! Thank you for the comfort you give with your beautiful posts and by sharing all that you’re learning from this journey, Pam. Your heart really IS on the journey, and yours is joined by many, many hearts who all love you. Crawl into God’s lap tonight, sleep in loving comfort, and I’ll call you tomorrow to sing our special “March” song! Love love love, Mary Ellen

Leave a Reply

