[Post From Paul] Surgery Wednesday

I’m just about to head out to Boston with Pam, but I want you all to know that Pam’s surgery with Dr. Johnson at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital has been scheduled for Wednesday, the day after tomorrow (Mar 13) at 2:45.  Please pray for her, and think good thoughts for her, and try to feel as hopeful and confident as she is.  Pam has truly put her life in God’s hands.  You’d think someone in her position would be in constant need of emotional support, but she seems to be more interested in providing support for others.  I become more amazed by my wife every day.

The surgery will not take as long as her initial surgery was on July 19.  The size of the tumor is much smaller.  Dr. Johnson has explained to us that the ‘window of opportunity’ for this type of surgery is small, so it really is providential that she is able to get into the best hospital in the world and will be cared for by the world’s best neurosurgeon.  We’re all very grateful.

Please recommend to any of Pam’s friends that you meet to check this blog for ongoing details.  We may not be able to speak to each of you individually, but you are always on our ‘gratitude list’ during morning prayers.

Love to all,

Paul

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Cancer Sucks, Family and Friends, Important Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Post From Paul] Surgery Wednesday

  1. jonparker55 says:

    Many prayers for both of you today for a successful and safe surgery and quick recovery.

  2. Mary Ellen says:

    With you all, always. love love love Mary Ellen

  3. scaramouche says:

    Our thoughts and prayers will be with you all the way from South Africa!

  4. Thomas says:

    Be assured of my thoughts and prayers for Wednesday. We love you Pam!

  5. Kim Donoghue says:

    I’ll be thinking of you, my thoughts and prayers go out to you!

  6. Julie Lancaster says:

    Hi Paul,
    I got Pam’s email about the surgery. Thank you for the details. I can only begin to imagine how much of a roller coaster this is for you all. Pam sounds wonderful, full of hope and courage. I just thank God for her, you and Liqa. You are all amazing people, especially my precious sister. You know I and many, many others have her as a top priority with prayer on wed. I asked Pam if she would want me to come for a few days, and will wait to see what she wants.
    Thank you for the wonderful husband and person you are. Godspeed to all. I’ll be in prayer.
    Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

