Recovery Update — Thirteen Days Out

Loved ones,

Who ever knows what the future has in store?  I certainly wouldn’t have guessed, while we were all celebrating Independence Day last year, that I had two brain surgeries heading my way over the next eight months.  You know that commercial on TV, the one for AT&T where that guy is sitting around with a bunch of kids, asking if “two is better”?  He’d better be careful before he asks me — I might give him an answer he doesn’t want to hear!

Yes, friends, Dr. Johnson has opened up the ol’ coconut and opened it up again and I’m here to tell you about it.  Truly, life can be amazing!  I’m recovering, I know it, other people are noticing it; I’m getting stronger all the time, and finding little things to look forward to.  Right now, for example, I’m looking forward to Thursday, when I can get my sutures removed.  Having your scalp crocheted with barbed wire gets old after a while.

What can I say other than that I’m grateful, I can’t tell you how grateful.  I thank God every minute that we live just around the corner from the greatest hospitals in the history of civilization.  What a miracle it is to be able to sustain brain surgery without any loss of the the essence of who I am!  I sound the same, look the same, have the same sense of humor.  People tell me I’m just as laid back and easy going as I’ve ever been.  You know me — slow to criticize, never taking offense.  (See, I told you I still have my sense of humor!!)  God is so good!  Life is so good!  All of you are so good!  I am so grateful and I feel so blessed.

Thank you all for your prayers, your support, your encouragement.

Never doubt that Paul and I are committed to doing life affirming activities every chance we get: we’ve had folks over for brunch, we’ve been to a movie, we’re planning to participate in the upcoming Holy Week activities at our parish (it’s what we Catholics call the Triduum,)  Don’t want to get all religious on you, but these days are all about new beginnings, new hopes, and a new affirmation of life.  (Didn’t your pastor explain that the resurrection is RIGHT NOW?)

Sunday’s a big day for us.  We’re hosting Easter dinner and we’re prepared to fill the house with happy people who’ve filled their plates with delicious food.  No concession to cancer there.  Life goes on, and I intend to go on with it.

It’s not all fun and games, though.  I’m in training, now; training for my next round of chemotherapy.  This is the life I have today, and this is how I choose to live it: training for tomorrow.  My body has to train to continue its fight against cancer — strong, well rested, alert.  I’m dedicated to improving my nutrition, my exercise and sleep regimen so don’t come knockin’ when Mama’s nappin’!

I’m no different than an olympic athlete, getting ready to compete against the best in the world.  Only difference is that the athlete is competing for some silly medal.  I’m competing for my life!  Here’s my promise to you, and my promise to myself: I’m not getting knocked out.  I’m going fifteen rounds.  I may have lost the first round, but there’s plenty of fight in me.  This is the life I’ve been given right now, the life of a cancer warrior, and you can be damned sure I’m not going to waste one second of it.

Spring is in the air.  The ground is becoming fertile again, flowers and trees are blooming, the snow and ice are melting away and the sun is starting to give us some real warmth.  There’s a message in all of that.  There’s a message for me, at any rate.  Life waking up around me while life is waking up within me.  I’m focused, I’m centered, I’m confident and I’m ready to show the cancer who’s boss.

I know you all pray for me, and for my family.  Believe it or not, we can feel your prayers coming our way.  Let me tell you that I pray for each of you.  I pray that you can love life as much as I do.  I pray that you can be happy.  Happy Passover!  Happy Easter!  Happy Equinox!  Life is very, very good!

Keep Smiling,  🙂

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Cancer Sucks, Family and Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Recovery Update — Thirteen Days Out

  1. Pingback: [Post from Paul] Who’s Interested? | My Walk With Jesus: My Heart is on the Journey

  2. Maxine says:

    Hi Pam, Great to see you yesterday. You look awesome! You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. Sending turquoise light your way!

  3. elaine ducharme says:

    Hey Pam! Great to see you today at class and thank you again for the lovely birthday flowers!! We changed arrangements for Thursday…going to meet at my house, order food from Red Lentil in and work on our social atoms!! So come on over to my place! Need your email or phone # girl!!

    xox
    Elaine

  4. Lorie says:

    So great to see you Holy Thursday — hope you had a fabulous time with your Easter company! Keeping you always in my prayers and holding you in my heart.

  5. Kim Donoghue says:

    Hi Pam! Hope you had a nice Easter with your family! Keep the fight up! XOXO

  6. Beverly Good says:

    Pam–thank you for the best Easter message evah!! Clearly, God has the three of you encompassed in his hands!
    love, Beverly

  7. Steve Bradford says:

    Wow Pam, it is so easy to love and admire you!

  8. PAMMY,YOU ARE FABULOUS!!!!..I AM SO HAPPY TO BE ABLE TO READ YOUR BLOG,YOU ARE BLESSED …HAPPY EASTER TO ALL.XO LORI..

    • Jim Cavallo & Nicole Abair says:

      Pam,
      We bumped into Paul at the Good Friday service and wanted to let you know that you have been in our thoughts and prayers every day. Your blog is a source of inspiration and optimism for all those who are suffering. Our son Nate continues his treatment and, like you, has proven to be incredibly courageous. We wish you a joyous Easter.
      Many blessings,
      Jim Cavallo & Nicole Abair

  9. Maria O'Brien Hylton says:

    Great post as always…so much to be grateful for as we move toward Easter….lots of love, good wishes and prayers!

  10. Thomas says:

    Thank you Pam for this beautiful witness to how precious our lives are. You bring Joy to us!

  11. ronald lancaster says:

    Wonderful blog.  So glad to hear how you are doing.   God bless . Much love, Julie

    ________________________________

  12. Hi Pam!!! I feel better, too, reading your blog! You are the best and most inspirational woman I know…plenty of xxxxoxoxos coming your way…can’t wait to see you this week.

  13. Misha peterosn says:

    I love you guys!

  14. Lisa Cimino says:

    Thank you Pam – I feel better just reading your blog. You inspire me to live life fully with joy!!

Leave a Reply

