Shoes and Rice

To all you wonderful people:

You know, I really think this means more to Paul and Liqa than it does to me; but today is the day I’m finally able to get out of the house and over to our church — Sacred Heart in Lexington.  I’ll be joining the real world for an actual real life function.  I’ll get to wear a nice dress, and shoes, and jewelry.  I’ll be ‘seen’ by folks I haven’t seen in months.  When was the last time I managed to get to church??  I’m going to have to leave that question to the experts; but it’s been a long, long time since I could manage the trek easily.  I’ve essentially been homebound for more than a month, but nothing in the world could keep me from this.  This afternoon, I (along with a throng of happy well-wishers) get to witness the union of  our dear fried and fellow parishioner Thomas Clouqueur and his lucky, lucky bride Marie.

Please understand, for several years Paul and I were vying with another couple from our parish to get Thomas to agree to be his “American parents”.  Thomas is French, so his “real” parents live in far-away Paris.  Poor boy!  Now, Thomas has never indicated to anyone that he actually needs American parents; but we figured this was our best shot at getting ourselves a son.  A son we wouldn’t have to go to the trouble of raising.

We tried so hard to woo Thomas — gifts, dinners, holiday celebrations — we even pretended to laugh at his jokes.  Alas, we were outfoxed by those wily Binghams (some people are soooooo competitive!  Sheesh!!)

Now that Thomas has found the marvelous Marie, Thomas needs us less than ever; but they’ve been kind enough to invite us to their big day and, believe me, it will be a big day for me as well.

It’s going to be an accomplishment – not just for me, but for Liqa and Paul — to be able to participate in their joy and love, and to socialize with so many of the friends we love.  I am so grateful for Thomas and for all the wonderful things he’s done for our parish, our community, the world in general.  He was the organizer and leader of youth Mass choir, where Liqa shined as a vocalist (the Binghams hold that their daughter Lucy was the best youth vocalist; but really, why would you take their word for it?)

It’s just another wedding.  It shouldn’t be a big deal to anyone outside the bridal couple’s circle; but it’s a big, big deal for me.  I’m grateful to be able to participate.  I’m grateful for the chance to party one more time.

Love to you all,

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Family and Friends, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shoes and Rice

  1. Thomas says:

    A month today! Pam, seeing you on my wedding day brought tears to my eyes, it was the most wonderful gift. I know it was a sacrifice for you to suffer through much pain to be present. I am deeply honored and touched by such a sign of love towards Marie and me. Paul and you are a real inspiration for our marriage. Thank you.
    Love,
    Thomas

  2. So glad you got out to have some fun! Xo

  3. ronald lancaster says:

    y to go, my sweet sista!    Hope it was a wonderful time.   Now you have Emily’s wedding to look forward to, and the Brain cancer walk (you get to ride!)\Love, love, Julie

    ________________________________

  4. Maria O'Brien Hylton says:

    So very happy you will get to attend this wonderful event! As always, love to you, Angelique and Paul

  5. Misha says:

    So very glad for you…and Thomas! Love Misha

Leave a Reply

