Lights! Camera! Action!

Dear Friends,

Well, as if it weren’t enough for the Benson Babes to be promoted in next Sunday’s Boston Globe Magazine (available on September 22) we’re now primed to make a big splash on your TV screen.  A crew from New England Cable News will be shooting a segment about our little group (they’re hyping us as inspirational) as part of the promotion for Cynthia Thomas’ article, “The Coat” (which they’re hyping as touching.) All the action is taking place early tomorrow afternoon here, at our condo in Watertown.

Well, most people call our town ‘Watertown’.  Paul has been calling our little burg ‘Terrortown’ ever since that famous incident last April.  He’s gotten into the habit of bragging to folks that we live “in the most dangerous neighborhood in America.”  Well, he may live in a dangerous neighborhood, but I don’t live in any neighborhood at all.  My world, these days, is contained in the makeshift hospital that used to be our dining room which is why — to use a phrase of Deb Halperin, the reporter who’ll be doing the piece — they’ll be taking “the mountain to Mohammed.”  All roads, apparently, lead to Pam.

I may have brain cancer, but I’m not going to let the world think I’ve let things go in the housekeeping department.  That’s why I had to crack the whip yesterday and insist that Paul shake some tail feathers around in the kitchen and make our home look a little better than the bachelor’s pad he’s let it become.  For twenty three years my husband has given me attitude whenever I’ve asked him to do his share around the house — now all he can do is marvel that I still care.

Yes, I still care.  I’m not gone yet!  I’m actually looking forward to tomorrow’s excitement.  I’m looking forward to the article coming out on Sunday.  I’m looking forward to the Brain Tumor Walk in two weeks.  That’s what I’m doing, and that’s what I intend to keep doing — looking forward.  That’s where the life is.

Speaking of the Walk, my amazing niece Stephanie has done a spectacular job organizing the fundraising for our team, “Pam’s Bossy Posse”.  Special thanks to those who’ve registered for the walk and to those of you who’ve made donations.  Special thanks, also, to those who’ve purchased Bossy Posse T-shirts and to those who intend to join us on the walk.  You can get details about all these things here: http://www.braintumorcommunity.org/site/TR/Events/BTW-MA/1820016119?pg=team&fr_id=2096&team_id=65442

I’m grateful to all of you.  I know you’re praying for me and I know you’re praying for Angelique and for Paul because we can all feel your prayers.  Thank you so very much!

Love,

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Family and Friends, Important Information and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lights! Camera! Action!

  1. ronald lancaster says:

    So excited for you!   You are showing the world you know how to fight.   Maybe this is the way you are supposed to get a message out.  Your courage is more than I can fathom.  You are inspiring thousands and are loved by so many.  Way to go little sista! Love, Julie

    ________________________________

  2. Lisa Cimino says:

    More excitement in the Bradford home – can’t wait to watch this beautiful segment on my big screen. Prayers continue – Lisa xoxo

  3. Misha Peterson says:

    Pam, you are awesome! Need some of your fight that seems to be there even when you might think it isn’t. New chemo tomorrow for me, and I do not want even try alone this time! Thanks for your love and prayers, and ask some of those people to reach out over to Arlington, the town next to Terrortown. Sending you and Paul oodles of love! Misha

Leave a Reply

