On news stands now!

To all my wonderful supporters:

I don’t know how many of you realize this, but I wake up every morning well before dawn — and I spend my first waking moments praying for Five O’clock to arrive.  It’s at that time, seven days a week, that I’m greeted by whichever private aide the Home Health organization we’ve contracted is scheduled for a six hour stay at the Bradford’s.  I’ve been helped several different women over the past month or so, and they’ve all been splendid, but it’s stressful whenever somebody new comes to the door.  Paul hates having to show a newbie where all our supplies are and to otherwise train her for the job.  Fortunately, we seemed to have gotten through the roster so we haven’t had to deal with a complete newcomer for several mornings running.

Little by little, Paul has come to realize that the aide’s arrival isn’t his cue to hide out in the bedroom and he’s had to come to terms with the fact that his day begins at Five O’clock as well.  It’s a lot easier for me to get straightened out for the day if I’ve got two helpers rather than one.

Today, however, he was itching to get out of the house as soon as he could and to get his hand on copies of the Globe.  He was down the driveway and out before six and soon discovered that, as promised, Cynthia’s article about the Benson Babes and the coat we’ve been passing from one to another actually was in this week’s Globe Magazine.  When Paul came back with our daily dose of Starbucks, he had a bagful of Globes as well.  He gave a copy to me and looked through one himself.  If you have a copy, you can find our story on page 26.  You can see a picture of me on page 28.

It’s the Twenty First Century now, so you don’t have to actually go to the trouble and expense of buying an actual newspaper.  It’s a great deal easier to click this link and find out all you need to know about one of the finest groups of women I’ve ever had the good fortune to be a part of.

In addition to the Globe, of course, there’s going to be a TV segment on New England Cable News (NECN).  The segment will be airing over and over again so you’ve got plenty of chances to see it.  You can also catch it on line by clicking this link.

As I’ve said before, cancer sucks.  It’s more unpleasant now than ever, so it’s wonderful to have the distraction of celebrity.  I guess I’m getting my fifteen minutes of fame while I’m still around to enjoy it.

Love,

Pam

About pamvbradford

I am a fifty seven year old banker specializing in government banking. I have a beautiful twenty-one year old daughter and a wonderful husband. My husband and I recently downsized, and purchased a beautiful condo in Watertown MA. We love our new home. I know I am a very fortunate person. I am surrounded by supportive family members, by supportive coworkers and by the marvelous support of our faith community at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA. As the Psalm says, "There is nothing that I lack." My whole life changed on July 18, 2012 when I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. The news came from out of the blue. My tumor was removed by the marvelous Dr. Mark Johnson and his wonderful team of surgeons at the Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The surgery truly was a miracle. I couldn't possibly have gotten better care. Now the 'easy' part is over. The tough part is to learn to walk with God in the midst of danger and surprise. My mood shifts from gratitude to fear and back again but I know God has a purpose for me. There's a reason I didn't die on the operating table. There's something that God wants me to do. This blog is my effort to share with others, with all of you, what it is that I am learning as I put one foot ahead of the other, live each day as it comes, and discover what it is that God has to teach me. Your prayers keep me going. Your love comforts me. Your knowledge and faith guide and teach me. God bless you all!
This entry was posted in Cancer Sucks, Family and Friends, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On news stands now!

  1. Billy says:

    Pam
    Just had the official paper delivered to our door via US postal service (Mawa).
    I want you to know I love the story!!

    Love you too
    Billy

  2. scaramouche says:

    Best wishes from afar.

  3. Maria O'Brien Hylton says:

    Excellent article and terrific photo–nice to see some quality stuff in the media once in a while….

  4. Mary says:

    Just watched the amazing piece on NECN….

    Love you,

    Mary

  5. Mary says:

    Great article, Pam, beautiful photo of you……love you lots,

    Mary

  6. Misha Peterson says:

    Great article, awesome idea, so much love, joy shines through, superb picture of you and your compadres, and big hugs to Paul. You guys aren’t alone…and I’m not speaking of all the home health care! I love you!

Leave a Reply

